Yarn Harlot


Although I only have knit one thing, I loved Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a Knitter.  There are so many parallels between knitting and quilting, or really any crafting activity.  Her chapters about her stash were hilarious, her frustration with certain patterns was hilarious.  When she triumphantly achieved a new knitting skill after several pages of funny struggle, it reminded me of all the quilting skills I have achieved through huge effort.  And when she talks about her first baby blanket she ever made: for her first child and uses it for a blatant metaphor for parenting in general, I loved it. She also nearly had me crying when she talked about one of her experiences as a doula.  I haven’t had such a range of emotions for a long time from a book.

Leave a Reply

