The Secret Life of Bees

I am not really a best seller reader.  I tend to read what I am interested in.  I read a small amount of general fiction to other books.  However, I can readily see why people have been charmed by The Secret Life of Bees.  I listened to it on tape, and the actor who reads it had a wonderful childlike voice, of course, with an southern accent.  It was a wonderful book full of detail and overblown metaphors.  The end almost started to go no where, but then it abruptly got back on track in a simple but satisfying way.

Of course, I then had to rent the movie which as the cliche goes, was not quite as good as the book, missing much of the detail and changing some parts to suit a more heavy handed Hollywood message of racism.  Still, I enjoyed it as a ghost of the book.  Although Dakota Fanning, was only ok, Queen Latifa was fabulous as August Boatwright channelling Whoopie Goldberg in the Color Purple.
The Secret Life of Bees Publisher: Penguin Audio; Unabridged edition

Leave a Reply

