And I shall find some peace there

 And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road  by Margaret Roach is a manifesto of a corporate woman, who ditches it all to live on her farm in upstate New York.  She goes on to start a blog and then use that blog as a start for this book.  I guess I expected funny farm anecdotes. Instead it is a spiritual journey with the wild animals playing symbolic parts.  This is the second book I have read recently about ex-Martha Stewart employees who have left high paying jobs in New York to live on a farm.  I also read The Bucolic Plague: How Two Manhattanites Became Gentlemen Farmers: An Unconventional Memoir (P.S.) by Josh Kimlar-Purcel.  Now, it is actually his partner who worked for Martha Stewart, but still it makes you wonder what she does to inspire her employees to give up the corporate life.  Anyway, if you want a book with a more interesting narrative of “how I became a farmer”, chose Bucolic Plague.  Neither book comes through with the hilarious anecdotes, but at least Mr. Kimlar-Purcel has a biting sort of style that is fun to read.  Ms. Roach style is dreamy and somehow rushed; like she has so many words and ideas she has to hurry to get them all in. It is more about an internal journey than a physical one.

And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road by Margaret Roach, Non-fiction, Grand Central Publishing, February 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

